Multilateral, Regional & Bilateral Agreements


• Following the end of the Cotonou Agreement in December 2008, Mauritius entered into an Interim Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) with the EU. The Agreement extends the trade facilities that were available under the Cotonou Agreement.
• Mauritius is now benefiting under the Third Country Fabrics provisions of the African Growth & Opportunity Act (AGOA). Enterprises can therefore source fabrics from third countries.
• The Integration process in Africa started under the auspices of the Organization of African Unity (OAU) in the aftermath of independence.
• Since then, numerous initiatives have been set in motion.
• These include the Lagos Plan of Action, the Abuja Treaty, the Sirte Declaration, the creation of the African Union with its New Partnership for Africa’s Development, among others.
• The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), the Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD), the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC), and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa, among others have attained the phase of free trade area.